I’m looking at you, Aisle 3

At times I deal with national and international issues on this blog.  Other times I look at the goings on in Iowa, West Branch, and Iowa City.  Today I would like to narrow that focus down even further, and bring attention to the ethnically insensitive signage in aisle 3 in the Hy-Vee on First Ave. in Iowa City.

I really, truly, love Hy-Vee, and good old Iowa City Hy-Vee #2 holds a very special place in my heart.  But darnit, Iowa City Hy-Vee #2, sweetheart, please use the more appropriate (both in terms of political correctness and accurate descriptiveness of the items you sell in aisle 3) terms of “Hispanic” and “Asian”.

***Success–The manager of Iowa City Hy-Vee #2 contacted me today to let me know that he has ordered new signs!

For the second time in less than a year I have taken to my virtual soapbox and submitted a comment to the good people at Hy-Vee.  Please consider joining me in this effort thanking Hy-Vee #2 for agreeing to change the signs by using this contact form.

Leave a Reply

