It’s the end of the summer as I know it…

… and I feel fine.  My summer officially ended last Friday with my first day back at school.  Still two more pre-service days, and then students show up on Wednesday.

I teach eighth grade US history (pre-history through Reconstruction) in a relatively high poverty, multi-ethnic, multi-lingual, rural/bedroom community district.  I absolutely love what I do and where I do it.

I had thought that I would be heading back to work with more reticence as I got to enjoy the summer at home with my now 14 month old daughter.  That coupled with some great short trips with the family made for the best summer I could imagine.  But ten weeks off is plenty, and I’m ready to be back in the classroom.

I am updating a presidential endorsement project that I created and taught four years ago to start the year off with.  The editor of the local paper printed three as letters to the editor in ’08, and I’m hoping for the same this year.

As I go back, I have to yet again set a goal that I wish I didn’t have to:

  • I will let neither the national/state attacks on teachers and teaching nor the drama and difficulties within my district distract from the learning environment I foster and create in my classroom.

Wish me luck!

One Comment on “It’s the end of the summer as I know it…”

  1. Rich says:

    Good luck to both of us on that front! And may it be a very healthy year too!


Leave a Reply

